Sustainable Means Long-term and Comfortable

This is my first blog. I believe to live a sustainable lifestyle you are committing to a life long en devour. This means you and your family need to be comfortable. If you have to give up too many creäture comforts you will give up and go to a more desirable life style.

My wife and I both like hot and cold running water and electric lights. I would be hard pressed to give these up entirely. There are many alternative methods to modern conveniences. A gas or electric water heater is great, there are alternatives and natural ways to pre-heat water. I will be covering some of these methods in future blogs. A modern convenience does not have to fight nature. Sustainable living is about cooperating with nature and living in balance. To be honest it is more effort and takes some forethought and planning to live sustainability.

To live in balance you will need to think about many small and several large things that we as a society take for granted. If you need food you run to the market and pay with a debit card. For lights in a room you flip a switch and there you have light. If you are off the grid; you will need to be conservative about electricity as you are probably using a battery bank or using oil lanterns or candles. I love the ambiance of candle lit evenings or a decorative oil lantern. These are very handy to anyone in the event of a power outage.

A generator using bio-fuel with a wind or solar system is a great alternative to using a public electricity utility. Again you will need to plan and conserve to prevent an outage. This is the beginning of a great adventure. I will be adding information on alternative energy and how to get mostly off the grid. I do not kn ow that it is possible in a city to get all the way off. You can do a lot to minimize your carbon footprint and save money.

To conclude my first blog I would like to say “Thank You” for stopping by and I hope you find some value in my blog. I will be adding more on different methods to provide for your self and your family. We are not islands alone but part of a great mosaic.

Tags: , , ,

About The Urban Gardenmeister

I am an avid gardener. My undergrad studies were in Architectural Engineering. I was a Sr. Applications and Systems Designer for over 20 years. A career is what you do while you find what you like to do. I just finished my 1st book on Greenhouse design. I am writing a new series of books on Urban survival and how to thrive off-grid.

Leave a comment